ATP Cup 2021: Serbia’s Novak Djokovic & Spain’s Rafael Nadal lead field

3 weeks ago
Serbia celebrate winning the ATP Cup final against Spain at Ken Rosewall Arena on 12 January, 2020 in Sydney

Novak Djokovic and Rafael Nadal will head the field at next month’s ATP Cup, which has been reduced to 12 countries because of the coronavirus pandemic.

World number one Djokovic leads Serbia as they look to defend the title between 1-5 February in Melbourne.

Nadal, ranked second, represents a Spain side aiming to avenge their defeat by Serbia in last year’s final.

US Open champion Dominic Thiem leads Austria, while ATP Finals champion Daniil Medvedev plays for Russia.

Great Britain, who agonisingly missed out on the semi-finals last year, have not qualified for the 2021 event.

Qualification is based on the ATP ranking of each country’s top-ranked singles player, while hosts Australia have been given a wildcard.

Serbia – Novak DjokovicArgentina – Diego Schwartzman
Spain – Rafael NadalItaly – Matteo Berrettini
Austria – Dominic ThiemJapan – Kei Nishikori
Russia – Daniil MedvedevFrance – Gael Monfils
Greece – Stefanos TsitsipasCanada – Denis Shapovalov
Germany – Alexander ZverevAustralia – Alex de Minaur

Last year’s tournament featured 24 nations and Britain qualified through Andy Murray’s protected ranking. They miss out this year, though, because Dan Evans is their highest-ranked player at world number 30.

The draw will take place on 20 January, when the 12 teams will be divided into four groups of three. The group winners will advance to the semi-finals.

The event has been moved to Melbourne – after being played in Brisbane, Perth and Sydney last year – to allow the players to stay in a Covid-safe bubble before the Australian Open starts on 8 February.

Banner Image Reading Around the BBC - BlueFooter - Blue

Let’s block ads! (Why?)

BBC Sport – Tennis


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Translate »