Chidambaram Lok Sabha constituency: Candidates for 2019 LS poll, past results, all updates

1 week ago

Chidambaram Lok Sabha Constituency 2019: Chidambaram will go to polls on April 18, which is the second phase of Lok Sabha election 2019. The key contest in Chandrasekhar in 2019 is going to be held among AIADMK’s P Chandrasekhar, MNM’s T Ravi, VCK’s Thol Thirumavalavan, AMMK’s A Elavarasan and NTK’s M Siva Jothi. The polling in all the 39 parliamentary constituencies in Tamil Nadu will be held in the second phase.

Tamil Nadu has a total of 39 parliamentary constituencies where 7 of them including Sriperumbudur, Chidambaram, Rasipuram, Pollachi, Perambalur, Tenkasi, and Nagapattinam have been reserved for candidates representing scheduled caste community. However, no seat here has been reserved for Scheduled Tribes.

AIADMK’s M Chandrakasi is the sitting MP in Chidambaram constituency. He defeated VCK’s Thol Thirumavalavan with a margin of more than 1 lakh votes in 2014 

Congress has been one of the most successful parties here whose candidates has won the seat 5 times. 

Chidambaram Lok Sabha constituency 2019 candidates 

AIADMK: P Chandrasekhar MNM:       T RaviVCK:        Thol ThirumavalavanAMMK:     A Elavarasan 

Chidambaram Lok Sabha results in 2014, 2009 and 2004 

2014: M Chandrakasi of the AIADMK received 429536 votes and he defeated Thol Thirumavalavan of the VCK who received 301041 votes 

2009: Thol Thirumavalavan of the VCK received  428804 votes and he defeated E Punnuswamy of the PMK who only got  329721 votes. 

2004: E Punnuswamy of the PMK  received 343424 votes. He defeated Thol Thirumavalavan of the JDU who secured 255773 votes. 

Lok Sabha elections in all the 39 constituencies in Tamil Nadu will take place on April 18.

List of all 39 Lok Sabha seats in Tamil Nadu

Thiruvallur, Chennai North, Chennai South, Chennai Central, Sriperumbudur, Kancheepuram, Arakkonam, Vellore, Krishnagiri, Dharmapuri, Tiruvannamalai, Arani, Viluppuram, Kallakurichi, Salem, Namakkal, Erode, Tiruppur, Nilgiris, Coimbatore, Pollachi, Dindigul, Karur, Tiruchirappalli, Perambalur, Cuddalore, Chidambaram, Mayiladuthurai, Nagapattinam, Thanjavur, Sivaganga, Madurai, Theni, Virudhunagar, Ramanathapuram, Thoothukkudi, Tenkasi, Tirunelveli, Kanniyakumari. 

Parliamentary elections 2019 are taking place in 7 phases. The first phase voting has already taken place which was held on April 11.  The remaining phases will go to polls on April 18, April 23, April 29, May 6, May 12 and May 19. Counting of votes will be held on May 23. 

Let’s block ads! (Why?)

India News


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Translate »