Japan adds Algeria, 17 nations to entry ban list over virus

4 days ago

Japan will add another 18 countries including Algeria, Cuba and Iraq to its entry ban list as part of border control measures to contain the spread of COVID-19, the government said Monday.

People who have been to the countries within 14 days of their arrival in Japan will be denied entry, starting Wednesday, the government said.

The newly added countries are mainly in Latin America, the Middle East and Africa, which have seen rising COVID-19 cases.

They include Cameroon, the Central African Republic, Costa Rica, Eswatini, Georgia, Grenada, Guatemala, Guyana, Haiti, Jamaica, Lebanon, Mauritania, Nicaragua, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, and Senegal.

The total number of countries and regions on the list will expand to 129.

Japan will also maintain other border control measures such as suspension of visa issuance by its embassies in the listed countries and regions until the end of July.

Japan has emerged from a state of emergency declared over the novel coronavirus but remains on alert against a spike in new infections.

Globally, the total number of cases has topped 10 million, according to a tally by Johns Hopkins University.

Let’s block ads! (Why?)

All – Kyodo News+


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Translate »